ESSIC Researchers Recognized at Annual Luncheon

On Tuesday October 18, the University of Maryland’s (UMD) Division of Research honored UMD researchers at its 18th Annual Research Leaders Luncheon.  The event celebrates faculty research achievement with the presentation of various awards and recognitions, including its annual Research Communicator Impact Award. 

This year, seven ESSIC faculty members were recognized as “Research Leaders” for their efforts in securing research funding during the current fiscal year.  The honorees included ESSIC associate research scientist Charon Birkett, former ESSIC director Antonio Busalacchi, assistant research scientist Christopher Hain, professor Zhanqing Li, professor Xin-Zhong Liang, professor Ross Salawitch, and visiting research professor Xiaolei Zou.